Los Angeles | 10.27.10

In October I flew to Los Angeles and spent a few days with Jordan. We had such a nice visit; I miss him terribly. We spent two days at art museums – The Getty in L.A. and the Norton Simon Museum in Pasadena – both fabulous and worth the trip. I saw original paintings that I have wished for many years I could see: Van Gogh ‘s, Dega’s, Klee’s, Picasso’s, Monet’s, Manet’s, plus furniture, glasswork, jewelry, sculpture, lithographs, stoneware, and fiber art from the 14th century and forward. Seeing my first Van Gogh (my favorite painter) a mere 12″ away from my face gave me so much joy. Having Jordan by my side for that experience made it even more special.
Los Angeles Oct. 2010
The Norton Simon Museum in Pasadena – Fabulous!
The pottery bowl was from the 17th century
The illumination and guilding in the manuscripts from these 17th century prayer books were very moving. You could still see the faint pencil marks — a thrill for someone like me who loves the written word with real ink on a page.
Jordan outside the Getty Museum

I had a limited amount of time this trip because back at work we were busy with training faculty in our learning platforms upgrade, but during my visit we all had some good conversation, good food, and laughs. The traffic would drive me crazy, but Jordan likes living in L.A. and that’s more important than my opinion of the L.A. freeway drivers.

I was the only one in the family who hadn’t met Jordan’s girlfriend, Rebecca, and I’m glad we finally got to meet and visit. I believe she likes me and I certainly like her. She is a fashion merchandising student in L.A., so I enjoyed hearing about her studies, seeing where she goes to school, and discussing some of her projects.

Rebecca and Jordan
Jordan and Rebecca

Fortunately I got to spend a couple of hours with Jeoff Hanser, Jordan’s friend from high school and a very dear person to our family.

I also was able to have a short visit with my nephew, Kevin and his wife and baby, Lindsey and Fischer. Love them! Fischer is about 15 months old in this photo and they have another babe on the way, due in April. Wish we could see each other more often.

After that visit, I was off to San Diego to spend a few days with my sister, Karen and my dad. It was a rushed trip, but fulfilling in many ways. Karen and I went to Rubio’s Fish Tacos, which was a blast from the past. My brother, Billy, used to take me there. It is always good to be at my dad’s place, even if it is a short visit. He offered to send me back to N.C. with a few boxes of Kleenex, if I had room, because he had about 25 boxes in his closet that were apparently a screamin’ deal. Only Ralph.

Leave a Reply

